what held my hand

Sun filled the room

the room was the world

I stepped into snow white

The birds sang a lulling tune that ecoed on and on

My days swam away with those of the sea

My dreams flew off with the birds

I ran through the room with my hands reaching out

grabbing whatever would hold me

I leapt to float across the lapping sea

But fingers became numb and feet held fast

Hopes were adrift

where they went I could not follow

It was a string tied under the heart

A tie that snapped over the waters

Red stained my dress

I understood the weeping willow

My only anchor in the clouds

It held me fast as wind and despair ran through my hair

The birds sang on and life passed through me.

 

Heart held too much love inside

It had to break to be free

but freedom was not what held my hand

Leave a Reply

