A tale from work

At 3:30 I went to work. I felt pretty today, I think it was the eyeshadow. It’s not new eyeshadow but I wore it differently today. But I like when I feel pretty at work, it just makes me feel, I don’t know, better about being at work I guess. Anyway, the point isn’t that I felt pretty, the point was that I was there alone from 3:30-4:30. An hour entrusted to me, the newest employee. It’s not a hard job, but I wanted to start the night of with a good pre-taste. So all is going well until this man, not from the states, walks in with his wife. He looks at me and says “I am guessing you didn’t anticipate me coming” to which I kind of laughed and said “No sir, were you on the call ahead list?” He looked at his wife who looked at me and then he said “You didn’t see me coming” I wasn’t really sure what he was going on about or if he was making some sort of older people joke…I didn’t get it. So I just politely laughed pretending like I did and said “Two of you? Would you like a table or a booth?” Then he looks me right in the eye and says “Because if you had seen me coming surley you would have been there to open to door for me” then he walked away….his wife then said “Yes two” and so I took them to their booth. I think he was having a hard day…
That’s all. It was awkward.

Leave a Reply

