Less than loverly

I have always been a dreamer. I mean at night. I dream. I fall asleep and wake up in a very interesting land where anything can happen. I can remember most of my dreams. And often times what I dream about affects the rest of my day. If I dream of food, chances are I will go to bed that night 3 lbs heavier. If I dream of falling in love, chances are I will be in the mood for looking beautiful, drinking black tea (as opposed to my normal green tea), painting, watching chick flicks, or listening to romantic music. Sometimes I dream of adventure, and so I wake up and look for one. I dream of being a super hero and wake up wondering if I really can fly. Granted I don’t let me dreams control my life, but they do affect me because I remember most everything, colors, names, sounds, faces, clothes, exactly what people (if they happen to be people that night) say to me and to others. I think I will know who my future husband is when I meet a a man who loves to hear about my dreams. I may be single for the rest of my life.

My dreams are loverly for the most part. However, the past two night my dreams have been less than loverly. Yesterday I woke up with a start looked at the clock and was relived to see that it was late enough for me to wake up, I jumped out of bed, shook the dream out of my head, and got dressed. Despite my less than loverly dream, I had a loverly day. However last night when I feel asleep I had for the second time a bad dream. I will spare the details because frankly I don’t want to recall them. This dream was followed by another less than loverly dream. I woke up feeling…pretty bad. And up till now I haven’t done anything to prepare for the day. Partly because our hot water is out so its hopeless for me to try and clean up anyway. I didn’t read my bible. I didn’t change out of my jim jams. I just. Thought and thought and thought. And the more I thought the worse I felt. There is no happy conclusion to this. I may do something after this to help the situation. But for now I am just sitting here thinking about my dreams. And my thoughts-like my dreams- are less than loverly. 

Philippians 4:8 (ESV)

 

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

I guess thats a goodish conclusion. 

Leave a Reply

