One day

What if every day was a holiday? What if we woke up every morning with huge smiles on our faces and yelled out “the day has started at last!” What if we looked forward to work as a opportunity to grow? What if we talked to the people we don’t know as if they were our old friends? What if my eyes were always watching to see if there is anyone who needs help getting though the day. What if we looked at the sky each morning, the trees bending in the wind, the people walking by, the grass growing? What if we really looked? Would we see something mundane? Or would we see a beautiful painting constantly changing into something new and ever more beautiful? What if every flower we passed made our jaws drop at how incredible the creator of the world is? What if I gave my last orange to the homeless man holding the sign? What if I lived where there are no flowers? What if we were always looking for the beauty in life, even in the dark places? Would we find it every time? What if I stopped looking at myself and how I could be better and started looking at Christ and how he was perfect? Wouldn’t I copy what I am looking at? What if every time I breathed I thanked God for the air? What if every time I feel the slightest hint of joy I praised him? What if even when joy is missing I praised him? What if I could love everyone? What if I could radiate joy? What if people could hear Jesus in my laugh? What if I could be perfect? 

One day I will be. For now, my eyes are on the one who is already that. Jesus Christ. 

Happy Monday! Enjoy some music.

 

One thought on “One day

  1. I am inspired. And convicted.

    “What if I stopped looking at myself and how I could be better and started looking at Christ and how he was perfect?” <– that's profound!

Leave a Reply

