“To die would be an awfully great adventure” ~Peter Pan

Today I woke up to some very sad news. You see for about three years now I have been trying to keep this a secret from everyone but I guess I need to get it out there today. When I was 15-years-old the doctors told me what my parents had be suspecting for years before that. I was dying of organ failure. This means that slowly by the time I was 18 all my organs will shut down. Once all of my organs go I will die, or I will need to be hooked up to a ventilator for the rest of my life. After a check up this morning I found out that I only have a few more months left for sure. The doctor suggested that I drop out of the play as if will most likely finish me off and I will need to be on bed rest after that. But I said no. If I am going to die I want to go out with a bang. If I am going to be hooked up to a ventilator for the rest of my life I want to be on my feet for these last days that I can be.

Please don’t be sad when you read this. I have been waiting for this news. I knew it was coming. It is not so hard to bare as I thought it would be. I have lived a good 17 years, and if I don’t die I can always sing with a ventilator right? Please don’t be sad. Help me make my last few weeks as wonderful as the rest of my life has been. Please think of my with a smile on my face and a laugh in my belly. I love you all.

(April Fools…clearly…)

Leave a Reply

